WhatsApp lets you adjust a lot of privacy options but one thing that was public with a few exceptions was whether you were online at the time or not. Now at last WhatsApp lets us hide when we are online from the application, without any trick.
WhatsApp is now activating one of its most anticipated privacy enhancements: selectively hide that we are online. That is, someone can see that we are online or connected even though we have hidden the time of last connection.
Hide that you are online on WhatsApp
From the beginning of WhatsApp, the indicative of if you are connected or not it was a public data although its scope began to be limited last year: only people with whom you have chatted before are indicated, a workaround to prevent applications and websites to spy on WhatsApp from continuing to work.
Now WhatsApp finally lets us make the decision to who can see when we are connected or not, from the privacy settings. This new setting has been rolling out to users for a few days now and hopefully it won’t take too long to be available to everyone.
As expected, you will find it within the privacy settings. It is not a new section, but it shares a place with the last connection time setting. These are the steps:
- In WhatsApp, go to the settings
- tap on Account
- tap on Privacy
- Go into hour of last once and online
You can configure who can see the last connection time (the last time you were connected to WhatsApp) as always, but this configuration will also be the one that you can now also replicate as a setting for who can see you’re online. The options are as follows:
- All. Your last connection time and when you are online will be public and visible to everyone.
- my contacts. All your contacts will be able to see the time of last connection and that you are connected.
- My contacts except. With this option you can prevent some people from seeing your last connection time even if they are in your contacts. You can make the same apply for when you are online.
- No one. Nobody will be able to see your last connection time. Nevertheless. Now you can also make it so that nobody can see that you are connected.
As for who can see when I’m online, WhatsApp gives you only two options: All or Same as last hour time. That is, if you want to limit who can see that you are connected, you must also limit who can see your last connection time. As there is also the option of All, it is technically possible to make it so that no one can see your last connected time but everyone can still see when you are connected, which is in fact the default. Too messy? Here’s a summary:
- So no one can see when you’re online: choose No one in Who can see my last hour. time and Same as last hour. time in Who can see when I’m online.
- So your contacts can see when you’re online: choose my contacts in Who can see my last hour. time and Same as last time in Who can see when I’m online.
- So that only some contacts can see that you are online: choose My contacts, except… and then mark the contacts you want to exclude in Who can see my last hour. time and Same as last time in Who can see when I’m online
- So everyone can see that you’re online. Brand All in Who can see when I’m online.
As usual, adjustment works in both directions. If you prevent some people from seeing when you’re online, you won’t be able to see that those people are online on WhatsApp either.